What do you mean Java and JavaScript aren't related?

What do you mean Java and JavaScript aren't related?

It would be like ordering a banana when you wanted a banana milkshake....

·

3 min read

First off, was anyone else confused by this when they first started learning to code?

For a good couple of weeks I was under the impression Java was just a lazy way of saying JavaScript. I even went as far as telling people I was learning Java, when asked which programming language I was covering in my Bootcamp - "doh!".

It's not the same

So what are the key differences between Java and JavaScript?

Well... pretty much all of it, it seems?

According to GeeksForGeeks

JavaScript(JS) is not similar or related to Java. Both the languages have a C like a syntax and are widely used in client-side and server-side web applications, but there are few similarities.

After doing a bit of digging, I think it is easier just to cover off the key differences - as... really there are just not that many similarities:

  • Java is an OOP programming language while JavaScript is an OOP scripting language.
  • Java creates applications that run in a virtual machine or browser while JavaScript code is run on a browser only.
  • Java code needs to be compiled while JavaScript code are all in text.
  • They require different plug-ins

If these bullet points actually mean anything to you, then please comment below.

I often end up in wormholes Googling acronyms, just to understand my original subject matter. I mean what the heck is OOP?!

I also thought JavaScript was a programming language?! My research is just confusing me more. Let's stop and move on.

Basically....

It's different

Right, so which one should I start with if I want to land a career as a Developer?

As you can tell - I've only done a brief dive into researching the differences between them, but from what I have read so far, I remain team JavaScript.

And I swear that isn't (just) because my Bootcamp covers it.

It is because I am interested in Frontend Web Development (the pretty and interactive stuff) rather than Backend Web Development (the server-side, data stuff).

pretty things

JavaScript seems to be the key language used in Frontend Development, along with languages such as HTML, CSS and frameworks/libraries like JQuery, React, Vue, Bootstrap and SASS.

I am due to cover React in my Bootcamp and I have heard it is one of the most popular libraries, with many job openings requesting it. I also really enjoyed putting into practice what I learnt around the Bootstrap framework. The ability to put elements into a responsive grid and quickly create forms was very pleasing!

Screen Shot 2021-07-21 at 20.27.48.png

Java.... you guessed it.... is used in Backend Development. I think JavaScript can also be utilised here (which gives it one up), but other common languages are Python, PHP and Ruby which you can see by popularity below:

Screen Shot 2021-07-21 at 20.31.12.png


Are you team JavaScript? Explain your stance in the comments below.